Join the Race to Zero before 6th November 2023

Race to life logo

Universities & Colleges of the world:

sign up to the Race to Zero,

a global initiative for a 

Zero Carbon World

Read more

Home EAUC Logo Second Nature Logo

Powered by the UN Environment Programme, EAUC & Second Nature - Race to Zero is a global campaign to rally leadership and action in the education sector

Read more

Together we can make an impact


“Every university and college should show leadership and sign up to the Race to Zero for Universities and Colleges” Alok Sharma, COP26 President


Join us today

Institutions involved


Cop 28


Students represented


Days until Cop 28


We need you to commit now!

Why we need University and College support

Why feed into the Race to Zero

Why feed into the Race to Zero

Nigel Topping, High-Level Climate Champion of UK for COP27

How your sector influences COP

How your sector influences COP

Mahmoud Mohieldin, High-Level Climate Champion of Egypt for COP27

How it works

Pledge >

Pledge at head-of-organisation level to reach (net) zero GHGs as soon as possible, and by mid-century at the latest, in line with global efforts to limit warming to 1.5C. Set an interim target to achieve in the next decade, which reflects maximum effort towards or beyond a fair share of the 50% global reduction in CO2 by 2030 identified in the IPCC Special Report on Global Warming of 1.5C. You have one year after you sign to set your targets. 

Plan >

Within 12 months of joining explain what actions will be taken toward achieving both interim and longer-term pledges, especially in the short-to-medium term. You have one year after you sign to set your action plan. 

Refer to the full details on the refined criteria, and accompanying interpretation guide and language guide. It is expected that universities and colleges include scope 3 emissions as the same as businesses do. 

Proceed >

Take immediate action toward achieving (net) zero, consistent with delivering interim targets specified. You have one year after you sign to set your targets. 

The Race to Zero criteria is set by an Expert Peer Review Group, which comprises scientific and technical experts from around the world.

Publish >

Commit to report publicly both progress against interim and long-term targets, as well as the actions being taken, at least annually. You have one year after you sign to develop your annual report. 

Persuade >

The 5th P was introduced through the 2022 Criteria Consultation in recognition of the importance of aligning each actor’s influencing capacities with their net zero commitments. The Race to Zero campaign will prioritise, with its Partners, the implementation of ‘Persuade’, building on findings of the Pivot Point report launched on 21 September 2022.

Making an Impact


Decide it's time universities and colleges take action now.

Sign up and say that your institution wants to be zero carbon. Once signed you have up to one year to set your target and agree your action plan.

Tell us what actions your institution is already taking and what you plan to do next.


Show commitment - we will send you your Race to Zero certificate so you can show that your university or college is leading the way in the climate crisis.

Keep you updated with ideas and projects to reduce your carbon even further. 


We all unite to represent the voice of universities and colleges to global governments.

We show global governments that there is a vital need for their support each year at COP to make every university & college zero carbon by 2030.

Current Signatories

Universidad de La Laguna
Girne American University
King Mongkut’s University of Technology Thonburi
Politecnico di Torino
New City College
Edinburgh Napier University
Università degli Studi di Padova
Universidad de Magallanes
University of the Basque Country
University of Helsinki
Instituto Superior Técnico
Universidad Nacional de Caaguazú
Universidad de Navarra
University of Bath
Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
O.P. Jindal Global University
University Jaume I of Castello
Universidad Nacional del Nordeste (UNNE)
Universidad Técnica Nacional
Shetland UHI
South Lanarkshire College
University of Cambridge
University of Portsmouth
Université Toulouse 3 - Paul Sabatier
Université de Sousse
University of Kabul
University of Montreal
Almo Collegio Borromeo
Concordia University
Universidad San Jorge
Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso
Royal Agricultural Univeristy
Universidad Católica de Murcia (UCAM)
Cegep de Sherbrooke
Universidad Católica de Ávila
Aalto University
Universidad de Valladolid
University of Turku
University of Genoa
University of the West of England  Bristol
Université du Québec à Montréal
University of Mondragon
Universidad de Murcia
Polytechnique Montreal
Escola Superior de Tecnologia da Saúde de Coimbra/IPC
Universidad Tecnológica de Panamá (UTP)
Universidad Veracruzana
Goldsmiths, University of London
Bayero University Kano
Swinburne University of Technology
Mahidol University
Universidad Biblica de las Americas
Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Lille
Universidad de Cádiz
Higher Colleges of Technology
Universidad de La Frontera
State University of Campinas - Universidade Estadual de Campinas - Unicamp Brazil
Nelson & Colne College
Grenoble INP
Karolinska Institutet
Stockholm University
Universidad de Córdoba
University of Guadalajara
Universidad Metropolitana de Honduras
Cardiff University
Aalto University Student Union
Universidad de Morón
Université de Sherbrooke
Swiss Federal Research Institute WSL
West Lothian College
Universidad de Buenos Aires
Universidad Nacional de Ciencias Forestales
Royal Veterinary College
Selkirk College
Universitat Pompeu Fabra - Barcelona
Universidad José Antonio Páez
University of Worcester
Universitat Rovira i Virgili
Emlyon Business School
University of Exeter
Universidad de Santiago de Chile
Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña
The University of Nottingham
The University of Surrey