Join the Race to Zero before 11th November 2024

Race to life logo

Universities & Colleges of the world:

sign up to the Race to Zero,

a global initiative for a 

Zero Carbon World

Read more

Home EAUC Logo Second Nature Logo

Powered by the UN Environment Programme, EAUC & Second Nature - Race to Zero is a global campaign to rally leadership and action in the education sector

Read more

Together we can make an impact


“Every university and college should show leadership and sign up to the Race to Zero for Universities and Colleges” Alok Sharma, COP26 President


Join us today

Institutions involved


Cop 29


Institutions committed


Students represented


Days until Cop 29


We need you to commit now!

Why we need University and College support

Why join the Race to Zero

Why join the Race to Zero

Razan Al Mubarak, High-Level Climate Champion of UAE for COP28

How the education sector influences COP

How the education sector influences COP

Nigar Arpadarai, High-Level Climate Chamption of Azerbaijan for COP29

How it works

Pledge >

Pledge at head-of-organisation level to reach (net) zero GHGs as soon as possible, and by mid-century at the latest, in line with global efforts to limit warming to 1.5C. Set an interim target to achieve in the next decade, which reflects maximum effort towards or beyond a fair share of the 50% global reduction in CO2 by 2030 identified in the IPCC Special Report on Global Warming of 1.5C. You have one year after you sign to set your targets. 

Plan >

Within 12 months of joining explain what actions will be taken toward achieving both interim and longer-term pledges, especially in the short-to-medium term. You have one year after you sign to set your action plan. 

Refer to the full details on the refined criteria, and accompanying interpretation guide and language guide. It is expected that universities and colleges include scope 3 emissions as the same as businesses do. 

Proceed >

Take immediate action toward achieving (net) zero, consistent with delivering interim targets specified. You have one year after you sign to set your targets. 

The Race to Zero criteria is set by an Expert Peer Review Group, which comprises scientific and technical experts from around the world.

Publish >

Commit to report publicly both progress against interim and long-term targets, as well as the actions being taken, at least annually. You have one year after you sign to develop your annual report. 

Persuade >

The 5th P was introduced through the 2022 Criteria Consultation in recognition of the importance of aligning each actor’s influencing capacities with their net zero commitments. The Race to Zero campaign will prioritise, with its Partners, the implementation of ‘Persuade’, building on findings of the Pivot Point report launched on 21 September 2022.

Making an Impact


Decide it's time universities and colleges take action now.

Sign up and say that your institution wants to be zero carbon. Once signed you have up to one year to set your target and agree your action plan.

Tell us what actions your institution is already taking and what you plan to do next.


Show commitment - we will send you your Race to Zero certificate so you can show that your university or college is leading the way in the climate crisis.

Keep you updated with ideas and projects to reduce your carbon even further. 


We all unite to represent the voice of universities and colleges to global governments.

We show global governments that there is a vital need for their support each year at COP to make every university & college zero carbon by 2030.

Current Signatories

Karolinska Institutet
Universidad Nacional del Nordeste (UNNE)
Universidad de Morón
University of Turku
Universidad de Magallanes
Royal Agricultural Univeristy
Universitat Rovira i Virgili
University of the Basque Country
Aalto University
Università degli Studi di Padova
University of the West of England  Bristol
University of Kabul
Cegep de Sherbrooke
The University of Nottingham
Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Lille
Universidad de Buenos Aires
Shetland UHI
Universidad de Cádiz
University of Mondragon
Universidad Nacional de Ciencias Forestales
Aalto University Student Union
Stockholm University
University Jaume I of Castello
Université de Sousse
Universidad Metropolitana de Honduras
Universidad Austral
City College Norwich
South Lanarkshire College
Universidad de La Frontera
Nelson & Colne College
O.P. Jindal Global University
Universidad de Córdoba
Polytechnique Montreal
Universidad Biblica de las Americas
Mahidol University
Universidad Católica de Ávila
Universidad Nacional de Caaguazú
Université du Québec à Montréal
Edinburgh Napier University
State University of Campinas - Universidade Estadual de Campinas - Unicamp Brazil
Université Toulouse 3 - Paul Sabatier
Universidad de La Laguna
Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña
Cardiff University
University of Cambridge
Swiss Federal Research Institute WSL
Bayero University Kano
Higher Colleges of Technology
Université de Sherbrooke
Swinburne University of Technology
New City College
University of Bath
Politecnico di Torino
Universidad de Valladolid
University of Montreal
Emlyon Business School
Universidad Tecnológica de Panamá (UTP)
Concordia University
Universidad de Navarra
Universidad de Santiago de Chile
Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Girne American University
The University of Surrey
University of Helsinki
Selkirk College
Instituto Superior Técnico
Royal Veterinary College
Goldsmiths, University of London
Universidad Técnica Nacional
Grenoble INP
University of Worcester
University of Portsmouth
Universidad Veracruzana
Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso
West Lothian College
Almo Collegio Borromeo
Universidad San Jorge
Universidad Católica de Murcia (UCAM)
Universidad José Antonio Páez
University of Guadalajara
University of Exeter
Universidad de Murcia
University of Genoa
King Mongkut’s University of Technology Thonburi
Escola Superior de Tecnologia da Saúde de Coimbra/IPC
Universitat Pompeu Fabra - Barcelona